Nobel Prize period starts today

Nobel Prize period starts today

Swedish News

The Nobel season kicks off on Monday with the announcement of the winner of the prize in medicine, followed by the prizes for physics on Tuesday, for chemistry on Wednesday, peace on Thursday and economics on Friday – though as ever, most speculation concerns who will win this year’s Nobel Prize in Literature, the announcement date for which has not yet b

een set. “If it is someone you have never heard of, just see as a possibility to get to know a great author and to walk into a world of otherways of living and thinking and being a human being” Mattias Hermansson, head of Swedish Radio’s culture department told Svenska Dagbladet. In this year’s betting, Japanese novelist Haruki Murakami once again makes the shortlist along with the Kenyan author and playwright, Ngugi Wa Thiong’o.

The announcements will be as follows:

  • 2 October, 11:30: Physiology or Medicine
  • 3 October, 11:45: Physics
  • 4 October, 11:45: Chemistry 
  • 6 October, 11:00: Peace
  • The Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences will be announced on Monday 9 October.

The literature prize will be announced at a later date.

All the announcements will be broadcast live here.

In his testament, Alfred Nobel designated the institutions responsible for the prizes he wished to be established: The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences for the Nobel Prize in Physics and Chemistry, Karolinska Institutet for the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, the Swedish Academy for the Nobel Prize in Literature, and a Committee of five persons to be elected by the Norwegian Parliament (Storting) for the Nobel Peace Prize.

The Riksbank established the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel in 1968 and the year after, in 1969, the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences was given the task to select the Laureates in Economic Sciences.

The Nobel Laureates traditionally receive their awards at a banquet in Stockholm on 10 December, the date on which Alfred Nobel, the prize’s creator and the inventor of dynamite, died in 1896.

Image provided by the Nobel Foundation